2022-R-10 Creation of Graduate Student Council

Sponsor: Ellie Jackson Yes: 17 No: 0 Abs: 0 **Co-Sponsors:** Katie Delker Date: 4/21/2022

Kate Riggers

Speaker Signature:

Vote Necessary: Majority Kathryn E Riggers

Intent: To support the creation of a Graduate Student Council.

Whereas, graduate students make up approximately 15% of the student population at MSU; and,

Whereas, graduate students have expressed their desire to have their voices heard within ASMSU; and,

Whereas, graduate students paying the ASMSU fee have access to ASMSU services and are represented by their respective colleges in the current 21-seat senate distribution; and,

Whereas, graduate students are eligible to run for any and all ASMSU positions; and,

Whereas, issues that are of concern to graduate students are not always the same as those of undergraduate students; and,

Whereas, establishing a council of graduate students will allow the council members to discuss issues and initiatives that are of importance to MSU graduate students; and,

Whereas, an ASMSU Senate liaison position for the Graduate Student Council would ensure the Senate body is apprised of the council's business; and,

Whereas, the existing structure of the Diversity Equity & Inclusion (DEI) Council can serve as the template for the structure of the Graduate Student Council; therefore, be it

Resolved, ASMSU supports the creation of a Graduate Student Council; and,

Resolved, the Graduate Student Council will have a public forum and steering committee; and,

Resolved, an ASMSU Senate liaison position for the Graduate Student Council will be established; and,

Resolved, a copy of this resolution will be sent to the Dean of the Graduate School, Craig Ogilvie; Director of the Office of Student Engagement, Marianne Brough; ASMSU President, Norris Blossom; ASMSU Vice President, Tal Rogers.

SENATOR VOTES Caroline Roeder: Yes



-1- 2022-R-10

Faith Himmel: Yes Halton Stancil: Yes Tyler Dobie: Yes

Atticus Cummings: Yes Amber Kurth: Yes Jack Pearlman: Yes

Autumn Freudenberg: Yes Claire Matthews: Yes Rosamarie Roccisano: Yes Cooper McCleery: Yes Katherine Carlson: Absent Nicholas Fitzmaurice: Absent

Ellie Jackson: Yes Isabella Roccisano: Yes Jaedyn Birchmier: Yes Melissa Ramirerez: Yes Pushya Krishna: Yes Alex Wilz: Absent Katie Delker: Yes



-2- 2022-R-10