## University Council MINUTES Wednesday, March 5, 2014 8:30 AM – 10:00 AM 233 SUB

Waded Cruzado, Daniel Adams, Kenning Arlitsch, Kregg Aytes, Jeff Bader, Corky Bush, Matt Caires, Kari Cargill, Nancy Cornwell, Dennis Defa, Glenn Duff, Adam Edelman, Tracy Ellig, Chris Fastnow, Brett Gunnink, Maggie Hammett, Robert Hawks, Bob Hietala, Karlene Hoo, Ilse-Mari Lee, Terry Leist, Robert Marley, Shelley McKamey, Helen Melland, Robert Mokwa, Lindsay Murdock, Donna Negaard, Kim Obbink, Renee Reijo Pera, Martha Potvin, Nicol Rae, Lynda Ransdell, Kitty Saylor, Leslie Taylor, Shana Wold, Susan Wolff

I. Call to Order President Waded Cruzado

President Waded Cruzado called the meeting to order.

II. Approval of Minutes for February 5, 2014

Minutes were approved unanimously. Kregg Aytes motioned to approve the minutes; Provost Potvin seconded the motion.

III. University Wide Information/Announcements A. YEAR of Engaged Leadership Recognition

Brett Gunnink and Kitty Saylor were recognized as Engaged Leaders, based upon their tireless work in securing the \$50M donation from alum, Norm Asbjornson.

IV. New Items

A. Posthumous Degree Policy Leslie Taylor

The Posthumous Degree Policy was brought forth for a vote, due to the timing of commencement and the untimely passing of three MSU seniors. It was approved unanimously and will continue to be examined for future changes.

B. Revision of Administrative Fee Policy Terry Leist, Vice President of Administration & Finance

This item will be posted for one month for comment and be voted on at the April  $2^{nd}$  meeting.

V. Old Items

A. Revision of Discrimination/Title IX Policy and Procedures for All MSU Campuses and Revision of Corresponding Sections of the MSU Student Conduct Code

Leslie Taylor, Legal Counsel

Policy carried unanimously.

B. Revision of Section 800.00 of the Personnel Policy and Procedures: Grievance Procedures

Dennis Defa, Chief Human Resources Officer Susan Alt, Employee & Labor Relations Manager, Human Resources

Policy carried unanimously.

C. Common Hour Exam Leslie Taylor, Legal Counsel

After comments from Bob Lashaway, Martha Potvin and Brett Gunnink, the policy was voted on and passed unanimously.

## VI. Informational Items

A. Wheeler Center

Dr. Eric Austin, Department of Political Science, MSU

Dr. Austin presented a series of slides informing the Council about the history of the Wheeler Center, as well as recent events it hosted.

## VII. Updates

## VIII. Public Comment

No public comment was offered.