Research Council Minutes

February 21, 2024 3:30-5 p.m.

VOTING:
Alison Harmon
Sreekala Bajwa
Craig Ogilvie
Mary Miles
Colin Shaw
Steve Swinford

Mary Cloninger/Robert Walker Nicole Tuss Terry Leist

Ron June Blake Wiedenheft Robert Mokwa/Durward Sobek

Brent Peyton/Robin Gerlach Carl Yeoman Sandra Sward
Eric Austin Elizabeth Olson Ryan Knutson
Molly Secor Turner Michaela McKamey Liz Shanahan
Brian Gillespie Amanda Haab Chris Fastnow

Michael Reidy Greg Young Colter Ellis Jeff Heys

Darin Boss

- Approval of January 2024 Minutes
- Introductions and news from the field (All)
 - MSU Federal Initiatives Portfolio
 - o Headwaters Tech Hub proposal in final stages for submission
 - MSU BIOMADE membership
- Core Facility Highlight:
 - Research Cyberinfrastructure; High Performance Computing (Coltran Hophan-Nichols)
- Research Administration (Sandy Sward)
 - MSU SAM.gov renewal update
- Research Development Updates (Liz Shanahan)
 - HASS Networking Event
 - o Internal Grants; (NEW) Research Collaborative Grant program
- Research Compliance (Kirk Lubick)
 - o Freezer Sustainability Replacement Program
 - Service Center Coordinator Position
- Undergraduate Research (Amanda Haab; Anna Tuttle)
- Graduate Research (Craig Ogilvie)
- Other announcements and March Agenda items

RESEARCH EVENTS:

- o 994-Journeys with Ilse-Mari Lee; March 26; 4-5pm; SUB 233
- o NACOE 3-Minute Thesis Competition; February 22; 3-4pm; Inspiration Hall
- o EHHD Showcase; February 22; 5:30-7:30pm; BW Grantree
- o Innovate HERE Virtual Conference (Hosted by TechLink); March 7: Innovate Here 2024
- o A Celebration of MSU Research & Innovation, Thursday May 2, 2024
- o Nominations portal for Everyday Heroes of Innovation opening soon